--- Home Page
--- What's New
--- Features
--- Features
--- E-mail

NOTE: Refresh this page each time you visit to ensure you see the latest updates

The latest update as of March 19, 2018

Exclusive coverage from the first NITRO OUTLAW DRAG RACING ASSOCIATION event


This exclusive report and photos are provided courtesy of Bob Snyder, our correspondent and ace photographer in the Southwestern U.S.A. Check out more of his work on his Bob Snyder Drag Photos website.

This past weekend saw Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park hold the opening round of the NDHRA (National Diesel Hot Rod Association) series along with the first race of the Nitro Outlaw Drag Racing Association. The new Nitro series was formed to help with the problem of so much breakage using a "big-show" tuneup, with the main difference in specs being a cut to only 80% Nitro in the tank. Six cars were to be at the opener but one Top Fuel racer (Lex "The Flying Dutchman" Joon) had a problem with getting a rig to make the trip to Phoenix.

Chris Bennett --- Todd Simpson FC

Cory Mac(lenathan) and Bill Litton in Top Fuelers, and Chris Bennett, Todd Simpson and Jack Wyatt in their Funny Cars made up the all-run field. They started out with all competitors making single runs to get a "no pressure" feel of the new combo and track, with Bill Litton running quickest at 4.08 and an early shutoff 247 mph.

Cory Mac TF --- Jack Wyatt vs Todd Simpson

Round one of competition featured one single pass, followed by two pairings, with the quickest Funny Car to face the quickest Top Fueler in the final round. Chris Bennett had some serious shake on his single which broke a chassis piece that took out his left rear slick, but was able to bring the damaged race car to a safe stop. Jack Wyatt and Cory Mac (with a 4.10 at 303 mph became the finalists as Todd Simpson and Bill Litton both had issues.

Jack Wyatt FC vs Cory Mac TF - Final --- Jack Wyatt FC vs Cory Mac TF - Final

In the final, Cory Mac ran a 4.08 at 301 mph to win over a troubled Jack Wyatt and take the inaugural event win for the fledging association. The next stop for this group will be at the Texas Motorplex (Ennis, TX) on April 28th, again as part of an NDHRA race.